Immortality..

Gazing down at my son while he nurses always provokes deep thought within me.  There’s just something beautiful about it, along with the realization that this is something that most mothers throughout history have done.  He is my world.  Sometimes I just like to sit for a moment, and bask in the realization that every person that has ever existed; the people we don’t tend to think of, they all mattered.  To someone, somehow, and to history itself, they mattered.

As I watch my son begin to learn to walk, and climb, I realize that this is something that every single human on the planet learns.  It’s something that connects us all, that transcends time. To all those mothers who have ever existed, to the children, and the fathers, I just wanted to say that I love you, as a human, a person, and a form of life.  Life is amazing, and beautiful. It is difficult for me to grasp that far back in history, someone lived their whole life, without knowing what would come next.  It’s a bit tougher to choke down the realization that I am mortal, and will one day cease to exist as I do today.  I will be gone, and my son will be here, and if he has children, then they’ll live even longer.  I want to leave a good mark on this world, I want to make the world a better place for those who will live after me.  

In a way, immortality exists.  You make your mark on history, as small as it may be, and your existence lends life to the lives you touch.  

Never forget your wings. ❤

~ by araelysia on November 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
