A Year Ago..

I am on Facebook primarily so I can keep track of people, and what’s going on with them, and I’ve seen little fad people are doing of 30 days of gratefulness or something. It’s a fantastic idea I really should do, but frankly my ability to stay on topic for extended periods of time, even something that little, is difficult.

Anyway, for some reason seeing that right before I went out for fresh air on my balcony, it made me think of where I was a year ago today. I tend to get like that in the fall.. Sort of nostalgic for the way my life was a year ago, two years ago.. I can remember, but it only happens in November. I think I will start writing about it in those months..  (This part is more of a random mental note to myself, please forgive this “lack of a fourth wall” thing.)

A year ago is both forever, and yesterday. I don’t tend to have crystal clear memories, but in these months I am able to remember where I was, and recognize where I am now. It’s a very grateful feeling, but very bittersweet.  A year ago, I was new to the family homeless warming center (Basically a night shelter for homeless families).  Jason and I (That’s my husband) were fleeing a living situation that had saved us from the streets for a few months, but had turned sour.  We lived with this guy named Michael who was very sweet, but had mood swings.  As someone who was 8 months pregnant, it was unnerving.

We moved into the shelter in December. I remember lugging all our stuff through the doors, I carried a backpack every single day up until I went into labor. Aedric is healthy as can be. I remember having to pee every two hours. I remember after I had Aedric, I was shocked and blissful that I could sleep through the night without having to go to the bathroom.. *grin*

Oh, Aedric is my son. His birthday is January 3rd, and he is my world. Maybe I should put up some pictures. I want to move over here from Facebook anyway, right? Who knows, maybe I can make some friends out of you Internet neighbors. If you want, that is.

Anyway, that was a year ago.  Today, I am sitting here on my new Alienware desktop (Note; it was on sale at Best Buy for like 1/2 off. That was a pleasant surprise, I was willing to pay $1 grand for a decent new computer, it ended up costing closer to 600 total. 🙂 Yay!  I love student loans.) in my new apartment.  My husband is playing some game on the xBox and playing with Aedric in the living room, I have a balcony, and a beautiful kitchen.

I can cook for the first time in years. That is what I am grateful for.  Life can change so quickly.  I was in a home within 3 months of becoming homeless.  That was a beautiful, pleasant surprise.  Well, okay, technically we had been homeless for 2 years together, but we were homeless THAT time as a family for 3 months. At least families get decent help to become housed.

I am grateful for how quickly life can change. A year ago I was extremely stressed, now I am  still stressed but this time it’s because I am finally enrolled in school. I am in my first term at college for an English degree.

One more thing..  Thank you for reading this. I don’t know who you are, I am just typing this and putting it out there, but thank you for taking the time to read this. It really means a lot to me.  You can say something to me if you want, I will respond 🙂 

~ by araelysia on December 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
