Letters for History

I have an idea for people. I have had no interest in learning history the “normal” way. You know, read a textbook, get some facts.  I’m curious about the people who lived before. I guess this drive all started when my friend Nyssa died Sept. 30th.  She was my best friend, and she knew me better than anyone else in my entire life, and I spent a grand total of 16 months in her presence. Most of our friendship was online, and it wasn’t a nice, normal one.

My point is, she changed my life, and she didn’t even hit 25. She died so young, not able to change the world the way she dreamed. I found out recently that my great-great grandmother was 5 when she was sent to America, because she became an orphan in the potato famine. I also found out that my great-great grandfather was her third husband, and she lived in Canada.

It is amazing how much our lives are affected by people whose names we don’t even necessarily know. We are all connected, in one way. We all live life, have dreams, hopes, ambitions, views, drives. We all exist, and we all matter in some way or another. We affect the lives of people generations to come by how we act today, and that is just phenomenal to me.

I want to transcribe that. I don’t want my story to go down in history forgotten, never published. I want to learn about people I’ve never even met, I want to learn the story of human history.  If you want to do the same, we should collaborate on this. I’d love to send people physical hand-written letters, as well as publish a book of them (Only if you want to be included, obviously!) to just…  Quietly state my claim to my life.

I guess this is an odd feeling, an odd blog, and that’s okay. I can at least try to reach someone I’ve never met.

Hi, my name is Katrina, and I want to get to know you.

~ by araelysia on December 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
