The Journey

When you’re at a crossroads, people always say that it just takes that first step for your journey to unfold. I find that irritating to hear because emotions complicate matters, and nothing in life is necessarily simple. If you’re stressed out, you’re likely not thinking with everything you’ve got, so your attention is scattered. Then how do you know which step to take?

I feel like that right now. I need to take a step, but I don’t know in what section of my life. There are so many, you know?

Creatively I’m feeling compelled to study Monsanto- I woke up with it on my mind this morning but didn’t have a chance to look it up today. I am going to look up some of the nightmare stories of what they’ve done to farmers and villages in other countries and tie that in with Corporate Wars (Obviously it’ll be altered to fit the plot… but the principle holds.)

I feel really strongly that we have a right to food, shelter, health care, whatever, and in whatever way people see fit. We should have access to healthy, fresh, non-contaminated food. When seeds are genetically modified what does that do to our bodies? What does it grow into that’s different? I mean, not all genetic modifications are bad but Roundup Ready seeds?? That’s a downright nightmare. Oh, we’ll just put something in so the chemicals we drown them in and affect waterways with won’t kill the plant.

I’m sure that veggie is not as good for you as one that DOESN’T have chemicals bathing it all the time.

I want to create a sustainable community. I want to be able to teach other people how they can become more self-reliant and fill their minds with education about nutrition and why they should care about this beautiful planet of ours.

I sound like a hippie, I’m sure, but I don’t feel that that’s a bad thing. Yes, I’m a “activist” in some ways, but I also feel like a citizen of this planet.

Life is amazing. Even when it’s really hard, even when everything gets you down and you feel like hell and you feel so alone, and worthless, and trapped… you’re not.  Connections are everything. Reach out, try to make a friend. Maybe that’s what I need to do.

I’m really excited about next term at MHCC.

~ by araelysia on March 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
