Seeds!

I got my seeds yesterday 😀

So, first of all, there’s a few things you should understand about me to understand my excitement this year. I grew up in a motel- and not a decent one. It was common for me to hear/see field mice running along the wall opposite my bed because there was a hole to the crawl space underneath, and they came into the building to seek warmth in the winter. Hell, when I moved back into #1 of that rat-trap there were squirrels in the ceiling that skittered back and forth all night long.

I never had space to grow things, and my food came from Wal-Mart and Aldi’s.  After I graduated High School my housing quickly tanked- I became homeless about a year after graduation, and struggled to keep my head above water. I had no/little food from 2007-2009, and then in 2010 I became homeless again.

I really, really don’t like poverty. What a shock, right? Well, I don’t mind being poor… I do mind not having roots, and not having any control over my food. I was so poor living in Ohio that I was excited to find 35 cents in the couch because it meant I could make a macaroni and cheese thing from Sav-A-Lot.  Ew.

Now? I’m living in Portland, Oregon. I’ve become aware of GMO’s, the RoundUp problem, and lots of other concerns, and I bought some heirloom seeds. I am in a decent apartment (because I was homeless and EXTREMELY lucky. This place is a blessing.) and I have space to grow things at a community garden plot and a friend’s house. I went all out when I bought the seeds.

I spent 20$ on 8 packets of seeds. 🙂 They are heirloom.

Cherokee Trail of Tears beans (Black)
Lavender
Oregano Vulgare
Carrots- Danvers 126 Half Long (Short and fat! Really cute :3)
Spinach- Giant Noble
Basil Lettuce Leaf (basil, to clarify)
Hidata Red Indian
Onion- Flat of Italy
And an extra, Sunflower Lemon Queen seeds.

Now, I’m new to planting. I tried to grow stuff on my balcony last year… Eep.  It kinda worked, but then my best friend died, and I was in school, and I needed to have molars pulled, and…. Yeah.

This year? I am setting down ROOTS. I am reaching for the sun, and I’m not afraid to grow. ❤

~ by araelysia on March 31, 2013.

2 Responses to “Seeds!”

  1. I love planting my own seeds/plants. I have a very small garden and I also plant in pots (gotta keep them watered well in pots…I sometimes fail). Nothing like growing and then eating your own produce. Good luck with yours. Thank you for sharing about your past. I will appreciate my garden produce even more because of your story.

    The Write Soil

    • I do too 🙂 I just went to my community garden on Saturday, I had a blast. My son did as well.. I started some beans in an egg carton today, and I weeded about half of the plot 🙂 I can’t wait to get back to it, there’s nothing like sticking your hands in dirt, you know? I’m sorry I didn’t reply to this sooner, I’m getting used to the dashboard. My blog is alive!

Leave a Reply

 
