Jaw… stuff.

I’ve had a jaw problem for as long as I can remember. It was the one thing I heard about constantly from kids growing up- they would jut their chin out to make fun of me because my lower jaw is larger than my upper jaw. Something about “Mandibular”, I don’t remember the rest of the diagnosis.

I am now missing all of my molars because of a) my wisdom teeth growing in sideways and breaking the rest of my teeth, and b) I grew up in poverty with bad dental hygiene. My front teeth have never connected, I have always chewed with my molars because they are the only thing that connects, and even my gums don’t now. They get close, within half an inch, but then my jaw muscle pinches and that’s as close as I get.

And I can’t get surgery because it costs at least 25,000$. It’s considered a “cosmetic surgery” and I don’t even know how to go about starting the process of trying to fundraise or even look into something like that. I am just really scared.

Judged. I always feel judged for having this jaw, I hate it. It hurts. Emotionally. I am going to go back to sleep.

~ by araelysia on April 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
