Pinched Nerve and Mother’s Day

When I woke up this morning I had a hard time moving my neck. Especially to the left. Walking is difficult, as is pretty much anything involving movement or staying still. I think it happened from the way I slept a couple of nights ago, and then it got compounded with some sort of nasty flu. My friend went to her doctor today and discovered she may have walking pneumonia and a few other things all bundled together.

Thankfully she knows quite a bit about herbal remedies and some crunchy mamas I know have given me great advice as well about natural foods to reduce inflammation. When I don’t hurt as much I’ll post some info. FYI, when you are cutting up garlic, leave it for ten minutes on the cutting board so that the enzymes that are released from the mincing (Which is extremely beneficial) have time to coax themselves out of the cells.

Tomorrow night I’m going over to my friend Stephanie’s house and the following morning we will be leaving on a train bright and early to go see her daughter in Albany. I’m really looking forward to it, because her daughter and Aedric really seem to get along when they get a chance to see each other. I can’t wait for this summer, when our children get to play together more often. 

I’ve felt as pinched up as my shoulder lately, all tight and angry… At myself, at the fact that I can’t believe I let myself get addicted to Farmville again (Just a little… I honestly find it repugnant that they have double the amount of farms you can even pay attention to, and way too many things on each…)

I really need to start looking up the psychology behind this crap. I release expectations of myself… And I am absurdly grateful for this life, even on days like today.

I got to check out the Natural Grocer’s out in Gresham today, it was pretty awesome. I went there yesterday too, and got a bunch of veggies and fruits both times. I am really glad that I can get organic produce and amazing food with my food stamps there. Especially since it’s Gresham, and I live on 181st. It’s really a terrible area for food, or fun, or trees, or life… Haha. ❤ But it is where my Home is, so it will do for now.

I won’t be home at all on Mother’s day, though. We’re going to hang out at a park, have a fantastic picnic, come home, and I will get to try some amazing foods I’ve never experienced before, and meet someone from a culture I’ve only heard of in school. Life is amazing.. .even when it hurts.

I miss you, Nyssa… But it’s okay. I’m finding my way. ❤

~ by araelysia on May 10, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
